Learning Support Centers at College of San Mateo - Learning Support Centers Coordination Committee (LSC)
skip directly to Main Content Navigation Search A-Z Index Find People Top Story Breadcrumbs Footer
November 12 - January 21
Fall 2014 official grades
available on WebSMART

Wednesday, December 31
Spring 2015 Fees Due
Wednesday, January 7
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • YouTube
  • Linkedin
Learning Support Centers
Learning Support Centers Coordination Committee (LSC)

The Learning Support Centers Coordination Committee represents discipline specific centers and the Learning Center. It brings together faculty coordinators, directors, staff, and students in a combined effort to ensure student success.

Mission
The mission of the Learning Support Centers Coordination Committee (LSC3) is to facilitate the effective and efficient operations of the learning support centers at CSM through a collaborative effort focused upon student success.

Summary
The goals of the LSC3are to develop a shared purpose: 1. to promote student scholarship and achievement by providing comprehensive academic support across the disciplines; 2. to provide equity through equal access and support services for all students; and 3. to inform the CSM community of the various services available.

Priorities
  • Coordinate marketing efforts to inform the CSM community about the variety of student instruction and other services available at CSM’s learning support centers.
  • Provide specific recommendations to incorporate some uniformity in operations/procedures across all support centers while encouraging each center to maintain its individuality.
  • Consult with PRIE to identify and collect pertinent data related to student success and completion.
  • Identify areas of needed improvement in the centers and advocate for additional resources through the Program Review process.
  • Encourage the development and modification of curriculum and support services based on student needs.
  • Identify and address gaps in center instruction and services for particular student populations and/or courses.
  • Promote fiscal responsibility by sharing center resources when possible.
Committee Members
Name Representation  Email AddressOffice Phone 
Theresa Martin Anatomy and Physiology Center martin@smccd.edu
(650) 574-6252
Darrel Dorsett Business Computer Center dorsett@smccd.edu
(650) 574-6439
Russell Cunningham Business Computer Center cunningham@smccd.edu
(650) 574-6489
Melissa Green CIS Computer Center greenm@smccd.edu
(650) 574-6374
Yaping Li Communication Studies  Center liy@smccd.edu
(650) 574-6338
Kate Motoyama Communication Studies  Center motoyama@smccd.edu
(650) 574-6676
Ron Andrade, Co-Chair CSM Learning Center andrader@smccd.edu
(650) 574-6571
Patti Appel Digital Media Computer Center appelp@smccd.edu
(650) 358-6770
Colby Nixon, Faculty Modern Language Center nixonc@smccd.edu
(650) 574-6336
Kathy Diamond Integrated Science Center diamondk@smccd.edu
(650) 574-6602
Dean Drumheller Integrated Science Center drumhellerd@smccd.edu
(650) 378-7241
Lena Feinman Math Resource Center feinmanl@smccd.edu
(650) 574-6528
Cheryl Gregory Math Resource Center gregory@smccd.edu
(650) 574-6307
Jane McAteer Nursing Skills Center mcateer@smccd.edu
(650) 574-6218
Kristi Ridgway, Co-Chair Reading and ESL Center ridgwayk@smccd.edu
(650) 574-6686
Jamie Marron Reading and ESL Center marron@smccd.edu (650) 574-6339
Juanita Alunan Writing Center and English 800 Center alunan@smccd.edu (650) 574-6591
Kathleen Steele Writing Center and English 800 Center steele@smccd.edu (650) 574-6683
Jennifer Taylor-Mendoza Academic Support & Learning Technologies mendozaj@smccd.edu (650) 574-6572

Resources
Agendas & Meeting Summaries

Agendas
Meeting Summaries