Student Clubs & Organizations at College of San Mateo - Clubs & Organizations
skip directly to Main Content Navigation Search A-Z Index Find People Top Story Breadcrumbs Footer
Student Clubs & Organizations
Clubs and Organizations

Fall 2016
If you have any questions, please contact the group's advisor or the Center for Student Life at csmstudentlife@smccd.edu.

Active Minds Advisors
Makiko Ueda
uedam@smccd.edu
650.574.6125

Fauzi Hamadeh
hamadehf@smccd.edu
650.574.6141

Aaron Schaefer
schaefera@smccd.edu
650.574.6141
Meetings
Tuesdays
1:10 PM - 2 PM
Building 14, Room 115
Alpha Gamma Sigma (AGS)
collegeofsanmateo.edu/ags
facebook.com/ags.csm
twitter.com/agscsm
CSM Eta Chapter is the local chapter of the California Community College Honor Society, Alpha Gamma Sigma (AGS). AGS maintains academic standards for induction, continued membership, and permanent membership. Membership during a semester is based on a student's GPA as of the previous semester at CSM or elsewhere. New members must have completed a minimum of 12 graded college units and achieved a semester GPA of 3.30 or higher to be invited to join the local chapter. Continuing membership must maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or higher. There is no unit requirement for continuing membership.
Advisors
Timothy Maxwell
maxwellt@smccd.edu
650.574.6332

Jeramy Wallace
wallacej@smccd.edu
650.574.6355
Meetings
Tuesdays
1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Building 18, Room 308
Business Club Advisor
Peter von Bleichert
vonbleichertp@smccd.edu
650.574.6266
Meetings
Thursdays
2:30 PM - 3:30 PM
Building 14, Room 205
Catalyst Project Advisor
Warren Shelby
shelbyw@smccd.edu

Meetings
Fridays
1:10 PM - 2 PM
Building 10, Room 195
Charity Club Advisor
Michele Titus
titusm@smccd.edu
Meetings
Thursdays
1:10 PM - 2 PM
Building 14, Room 102
Cosmetology Club
collegeofsanmateo.edu/cosmetology
facebook.com/csmcosmetology
Advisors
Aurora Medrano
medranoa@smccd.edu
650.574.6678

Cynthia James
jamesc@smccd.edu
650.574.6636

Kimberly Morgan
morgank@smccd.edu
650.574.6329

Erin Gruman
grumane@smccd.edu
650.574.6351

Andria Nalls
nallsa@smccd.edu
650.574.6509
Meetings
Every other Tuesday
3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Building 5, Room 202
CSM Democrats
facebook.com/collegesmdemocratsclub
Advisor
Lee Ryan Miller
millerlee@smccd.edu
650.574.6474
Meetings
Thursdays
12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Building 16, Room 209
Culture Exploration Club (former International Club) Advisor
Danni Redding Lapuz
reddinglapuzd@smccd.edu
650.574.6501
Meetings
Tuesdays
2:10 PM - 3 PM
Building 14, Room 118
Cycling Club Advisors
Chris Woo
wooc@smccd.edu
650.574.6542

Michael Claire
clairem@smccd.edu
650.574.6222
Meetings
1st and 3rd Thursdays
2:10 PM - 3 PM
Building 14, Room 117
EOPS Club
collegeofsanmateo.edu/eops/club.asp
facebook.com/collegeofsanmateoeops

Advisors
Katrina Evasco
evascok@smccd.edu
650.574.6151
Meetings
Wednesdays
1:10 PM - 2:10 PM
Building 10, Room 180
Fine Arts Club
collegeofsanmateo.edu/studioart/fineartsclub.asp
facebook.com/csmfineartsclub
The CSM Fine Arts Club is a club for all visual artists at College of San Mateo.  Members plan and host critique groups, exhibitions, workshops and lectures, paint murals, create websites and design promotional materials, web share and offer their work for sale and/or rental to members of the community.
Advisor
Rebecca Alex
alexr@smccd.edu
650.574.6291
Meetings
Sept. 6, Oct. 4, and Nov. 1
4:15 PM - 5:30 PM
Building 4, Room 111
InterVarsity Christian Fellowship
ivatcsm.org
facebook.com/ivatcsm
Advisors
Cheryl Gregory
gregory@smccd.edu
650.574.6307

SerKuang Chen
chenserkuang@smccd.edu
Meetings
3rd Thursdays
12:30 PM - 2 PM
Building 10, Room 192
Lion Dance Team
facebook.com/csmliondanceteam
Advisor
Danni Redding Lapuz
reddinglapuzd@smccd.edu
650.574.6501

Chris Woo
wooc@smccd.edu
650.574.6542
Meetings
Tuesdays
3 PM - 4 PM
Building 10, Room 310
Math Club Advisors
Shawn Westmoreland
westmorelands@smccd.edu
650.574.6684

Harry Nishanian
nishanianh@smccd.edu
650.574.6219

Mohsen Janatpour
janatpour@smccd.edu
650.574.6272
Meetings
Tuesdays
2:40 PM - 3:30 PM
Building 14, Room 202
Nursing Student Association
Blog: csmrn.blogspot.com
collegeofsanmateo.edu/nursing/nursingstudentsassociation.asp
Advisors
Jane McAteer
mcateer@smccd.edu
650.574.6218

Janis Wisherop
wisheropj@smccd.edu
650.574.6352
Meetings
Mondays
8 AM - 9 AM
Building 5, Room 339
Phi Theta Kappa (PTK)
collegeofsanmateo.edu/ptk
ptk.org
facebook.com/ptk.at.csm
Advisors
Ron Andrade
andrader@smccd.edu
650.574.6571

Henry Villareal
villarealh@smccd.edu
650.574.6590
Meetings
Mondays
1:10 PM - 2:00 PM
Building 14, Room 118
Psychology Club Advisor
Denise Toomer
toomerd@smccd.edu
650.574.6145
Meetings
Tuesdays
2:10 PM - 4:30 PM
Building 14, Room 117
Puente Latinx Unidos Club
Puente Latinx Unidos promotes the richness and diversity within the Latino culture while striving to fulfill the Puente mission of transferring to a four-year university, earning college degrees, and returning to your community as a mentor and leader. Puente Latinx Unidos members build community amongst each other through the various cultural, political, educational, and social events organized. Elevating Latino/a student success through academic excellence is at the heart of Puente Latinx Unidos at CSM.
Advisors
Lorena Gonzalez
gonzalezl@smccd.edu
650.574.6226

Jon Kitamura
kitamuraj@smccd.edu
650.574.6554
Meetings
Mondays
1 PM - 2 PM
The Village (Building 18, Room 112)
Student Veterans of America, CSM Chapter Advisor
Justine Evirs
evirsj@smccd.edu
650.574.6625
Meetings
Mondays
2:10 PM - 3 PM
Building 16, Room 143
Transfer Club
collegeofsanmateo.edu/transfer/transferclub.asp
facebook.com/csmtransferclub
Gain leadership experience for university applications and academic resumes; network with fellow CSM students about how to transfer to your desired college/university; meet with various college and university representatives; be mentored by CSM peers in desired majors; participate in transfer related activities and workshops; plan and organize university campus tours; coordinate campus club activities and events and gain a competitive edge in understaning the transfer process.
Advisor
Mike Mitchell
mitchellm@smccd.edu
650.574.6662
Meetings
1st & 3rd Wednesdays
2:30 PM – 3:30 PM
Building 10, Room 340 (Counseling Center)

Updated Tuesday, Sept. 6, 2016