Student Clubs & Organizations at College of San Mateo - Clubs & Organizations
skip directly to Main Content Navigation Search A-Z Index Find People Top Story Breadcrumbs Footer
Spring Recess
March 22-28, 2015
Memorial Day Weekend
May 23-25, 2015
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • YouTube
  • Linkedin
Student Clubs & Organizations
Clubs & Organizations

Spring 2015

This page will be updated as clubs submit their paperwork for the Spring 2015 semester and are approved. Please check back often as we will be adding new clubs as they are approved.

If you have any questions, please contact the group's advisor or the Center for Student Life at csmstudentlife@smccd.edu.

Active Minds
We offer a safe zone where any student can come talk about anything on their minds in a welcoming, understanding place. Or students can just come hang out. We also fight the stigma surrounding mental health. We are here for all students and participate in and hold events, collaborate with other clubs and groups, and do other fun activities.
Advisors
Aaron Schaefer
schaefera@smccd.edu
650.574.6141

Makiko Ueda
uedam@smccd.edu
650.574.6125

Fauzi Hamadeh
hamadehf@smccd.edu
650.574.6141
Meetings
Fridays
12:15 p.m. - 1:15 p.m.
Building 17, Room 112
Alpha Gamma Sigma (AGS)
collegeofsanmateo.edu/ags
CSM Eta Chapter is the local chapter of the California Community College Honor Society, Alpha Gamma Sigma (AGS). AGS maintains academic standards for induction, continued membership, and permanent membership. Membership during a semester is based on a student's GPA as of the previous semester at CSM or elsewhere. New members must have completed a minimum of 12 graded college units and achieved a semester GPA of 3.30 or higher to be invited to join the local chapter. Continuing membership must maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or higher. There is no unit requirement for continuing membership.
Advisors
Timothy Maxwell
maxwellt@smccd.edu
650.574.6332

Jeramy Wallace
wallacej@smccd.edu
650.574.6355
Meetings
Tuesdays
1:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
Building 18, Room 308
Anime Club Advisors
James Clifford
clifford@smccd.edu
650.574.6380

Rudy Ramirez
ramirezr@smccd.edu
650.574.6372
Meetings
Fridays
1:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Building 18, Room 308
Architecture Club Advisors
John Lucchesi
lucchesij@smccd.edu

George Sun
sung@smccd.edu
650.378.7301x19332
Meetings
Wednesdays
12:30 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Building 19, Room 114
Astronomy Outreach Club Advisors
Darryl Stanford
stanfordd@smccd.edu
650.574.6256

Mohsen Janatpour
janatpour@smccd.edu
650.574.6272

Dean Drumheller
drumhellerd@smccd.edu
650.378.7241
Meetings
Mondays
1:15 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Building 36, Room 125
Botany Club Advisor
Paul Hankamp
hankampp@smccd.edu
650.574.6626
Meetings
1st Tuesdays of the Month
5:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m.
Building 36, Room 200
Business Club Advisors
Rosemary Nurre
nurre@smccd.edu
650.574.6493

Ricky Ambrose
ambrose@smccd.edu
650.574.6475
Meetings
Thursdays
1:10 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Building 14, Room 201
Chinese Student Association Advisors
Makiko Ueda
uedam@smccd.edu
650.574.6125

Tami Hom
homt@smccd.edu
650.574.6151
Meetings
Thursdays
1:10 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Building 14, Room 117
Conservation Club Advisor
Linton Bowie
bowiel@smccd.edu
650.574.6170

Barbara Jones
jonesb@smccd.edu
650.378.7301x19399
Meetings
Wednesdays
2:10 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Building 14, Room 116
Cosmetology Club
The Cosmetology Club participates in outreach activities on campus and in the community. Club members have participated in events such as CSM Dance shows, CSM Theatre productions, CSM Health Fairs, Dia de los Muertos, Jazz on the Hill, the San Mateo County Fair, Connect to College, and many more. These events help contribute to the students' portfolios as well as enhance their skill set.
Advisors
Aurora Medrano
medranoa@smccd.edu
650.574.6678

Cynthia James
jamesc@smccd.edu
650.574.6687

Kimberly Morgan
morgank@smccd.edu

Erin Gruman
grumane@smccd.edu
650.574.6351
Meetings
Mondays
11:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Building 5, Room 202
CSM Democrats Advisor
Lee Ryan Miller
millerlee@smccd.edu
650.574.6474
Meetings
Fridays
11:10 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Building 16, Room 209
Engineering Club Advisor
Laura Demsetz
demsetz@smccd.edu
650.574.6617
Meetings
Fridays
2:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Building 19, Room 103
EOPS Club Advisors
Tami Hom
homt@smccd.edu
650.574.6151

Ruth Turner
turner@smccd.edu
650.574.6154
Meetings
Wednesdays
1:10 p.m. - 2:10 p.m.
Building 10, Room 180
Fine Arts Club
collegeofsanmateo.edu/studioart/fineartsclub.asp
Advisor
Rebecca Alex
alexr@smccd.edu
650.574.6291
Meetings
1st Tuesdays
4:15 p.m. - 5:15 p.m.
Building 4, Room 111
Gamers Club Advisor
Christopher Walker
walkerc@smccd.edu
650.574.6321
Meetings
Fridays
1:10 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Building 18, Room 303
International Student Club Advisor
Danni Redding Lapuz
reddinglapuzd@smccd.edu
650.574.6501
Meetings
Wednesdays
2:10 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Building 14, Room 102
InterVarsity/Christian Fellowship Advisors
Kenneth Brown
brownkm@smccd.edu
650.574.6249

Cheryl Gregory
gregory@smccd.edu
650.574.6307

Beth Todd
toddbeth@smccd.edu
650.378.7301x19455

Yin Mei Lawrence
lawrencey@smccd.edu
650.574.6110
Meetings
Tuesdays
3:10 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Building 16, Room 143
League of Legends Club Advisor
Rudy Ramirez
ramirezr@smccd.edu
650.574.6372
Meetings
Wednesdays
1:10 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Building 14, Room 115
Math Club Advisor
Harry Nishanian
nishanianh@smccd.edu
650.574.6219
Meetings
Thursdays
2:10 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Building 14, Room 117
Medical Scholars Club Advisors
Theresa Martin
martin@smccd.edu
650.574.6252

Santiago Perez Etchavarria
perezetchavarrias@smccd.edu
650.574.6217
Meetings
1st & 3rd Thursdays
12:10 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Building 36, Room 217
Nursing Student Association Advisors
Janis Wisherop
wisheropj@smccd.edu
650.574.6352

Jane McAteer
mcateer@smccd.edu
650.574.6218
Meetings
Mondays
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.
Building 5, Room 339
Open Heart Yoga Advisor
Denaya Dailey
daileyd@smccd.edu
650.378.7325
Meetings
Mondays
2:15 p.m. - 3:15 p.m.
Building 8, Room 203
Performance Dance Ensemble Advisor
Denaya Dailey
daileyd@smccd.edu
650.378.7325
Meetings
Tuesdays & Thursdays
12:30 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Building 8, Room 202
Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Advisors
Ron Andrade
andrader@smccd.edu
650.574.6571

Henry Villareal
villarealh@smccd.edu
650.574.6590
Meetings
Tuesdays
12:10 p.m. - 1:30 p.m.
Building 14, Room 206
Physics Club Advisors
David Locke
locke@smccd.edu
650.574.6624

Mohsen Janatpour
janatpour@smccd.edu
650.574.6272

Violeta Grigorescu
grigorescuv@smccd.edu
650.574.6597
Meetings
Fridays
1:10 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Building 36, Room 114
Polynesian Club
The Polynesian Club focuses on the many islands within the South Pacific. We do performances through the semester, highlighting the richness of Polynesian culture. We also hold speaker series, high school and community outreach, and many other fun activities.
Advisor
Finausina Tovo
tovof@smccd.edu
650.574.6417
Meetings
Mondays
1:10 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Building 14, Room 118
Psychology Club Advisor
Denise Toomer
toomerd@smccd.edu
650.574.6145
Meetings
Tuesdays
2:10 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Building 10, Room 194
Puente Club
The Puente Club encourages and aids underrepresented students to transfer to a four-year institution by sharing on campus opportunities through events, connecting Puente students by advocating involvement on campus and in the larger community, and creating a familia-support system. The Puente Club is both an academic and non-academic club that promotes personal and academic development.
Advisors
Lorena Gonzalez
gonzalezl@smccd.edu
650.574.6226

Katherine "Teeka" James
james@smccd.edu
650.574.6390
Meetings
Tuesdays
12:30 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Building 18, Room 112
Soccer Club Advisor
Brian Tupper
tupper@smccd.edu
Meetings
Mondays
1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.
Football Field
Transfer Club
collegeofsanmateo.edu/transfer/transferclub.asp
facebook.com/csmtransferclub
Gain leadership experience for university applications and academic resumes; network with fellow CSM students about how to transfer to your desired college/university; meet with various college and university representatives; be mentored by CSM peers in desired majors; participate in transfer related activities and workshops; plan and organize university campus tours; coordinate campus club activities and events and gain a competitive edge in understaning the transfer process.
Advisor
Mike Mitchell
mitchellm@smccd.edu
650.574.6662
Meetings
1st & 3rd Wednesdays
2:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
Building 10, Room 340 (Counseling Center)
Umoja Club Advisors
Frederick Gaines
gainesf@smccd.edu
650.574.6183

Jeramy Wallace
wallacej@smccd.edu
650.574.6355
Meetings
Wednesdays
12:30 p.m. - 1:30 p.m.
Building 18, Room 112
Veterans Club Advisor
Caroline Avalos
avalosc@smccd.edu
650.574.6625
Meetings
Tuesdays
1:10 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
Building 16, Room 143
Writers' Project Advisors
Mitchell Smith
smithmitchell@smccd.edu
650.378.7301x19263

Rob Komas
komasr@smccd.edu
650.574.6242
Meetings
Fridays
1:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.
Building 10, Room 453 (Honors Lounge)


Updated Friday, March 13, 2015