Student Clubs & Organizations at College of San Mateo - Clubs & Organizations
skip directly to Main Content Navigation Search A-Z Index Find People Top Story Breadcrumbs Footer
Student Clubs & Organizations
Clubs & Organizations

Spring 2014

If you have any questions, please contact the group's advisor or the Center for Student Life at csmstudentlife@smccd.edu.

Active Minds Advisor
Makiko Ueda
(650) 574-6125
uedam@smccd.edu

John Eckstein
(650) 378-7301x19343
ecksteinj@smccd.edu
Meetings
Wednesdays, 4:10 PM
Building 10, Room 194
Alpha Gamma Sigma (AGS)
collegeofsanmateo.edu/ags
The Alpha Gamma Sigma (AGS) Honor Society is a statewide organization that encourages and provides opportunities for participation in community service events in addition to promoting and recognizing scholastic achievement. The executives of Alpha Gamma Sigma serve to facilitate each member’s success in these areas in addition to helping them transfer in the future.
Advisor
Tim Maxwell
(650) 574-6332
maxwellt@smccd.edu

David Laderman
(650) 574-6302
laderman@smccd.edu

Jeramy Wallace
(650) 574-6355
wallacej@smccd.edu
Meetings
Tuesdays, 1:30 PM
Building 18, Room 308
Anatomy Club
This club is for anyone interested in human anatomy and enthusiastic about learning on the subject. We discuss anatomy related topics, share study tips, provide tutors and plan fun activities and field trips for high school students to see what we have to offer at CSM. Everyone is welcome to join; you don’t have to be in anatomy to have a great time in the club!
Advisor
Theresa Martin
(650) 574-6252
martin@smccd.edu

Lakshmikanta Sengupta
(650) 378-7301x19160
senguptal@smccd.edu
Meetings
2nd & 4th Fridays, 12 PM (noon)
Building 36, Room 200
Architecture Club
The CSM Architecture Club is open to everyone regardless of experience or talents. We explore the intricacies of design in our world in order to help our members define their own individual tastes and experience the local architecture and architects available to us. If you love architecture, design or are just plain curious about it all come join us for a meeting and find out what we are all about.
Advisor
George Sun
(650) 378-7301x19332
sung@smccd.edu
Meetings
Thursdays, 5:30 PM
Building 19, Room 114
Botany Club
The Botany Club loves all things plants! We do garden clean-ups and install native plants on campus, go on hikes, and visit botanical gardens in the Bay Area.
Advisor
Paul Hankamp
(650) 378-7301x19481
hankampp@smccd.edu
Meetings
1st Thursday, 5 PM
Building 36, Room 200
Charitable Club
We find ways to support our local community and encourage students to do the same.
Advisor
Mario Mihelcic
(650) 574-6542
mihelcicm@smccd.edu
Meetings
Thursdays, 2:30 PM
Building 14, Room 115
Chess Club
Play, lean, and teach the immortal game of chess. Participate in tournaments, hone your skills, learn to play. We do it all.
Advisor
James Clifford
(650) 574-6380
clifford@smccd.edu
Meetings
Wednesdays, 11:10 AM
Building 19, Room 100
Chinese Students Association
The aim for our club is to provide a friendly atmosphere for Chinese students and help them to adjust their lives in CSM. We also want to spread Chinese culture and let more people know Chinese culture. We welcome students with different cultural backgrounds to join us.
Advisor
Patty Kwok
(650) 574-6501
kwokp@smccd.edu
Meetings
Thursdays, 2:30 PM
Fridays, 2 PM
Building 14, Room 118
Cosmetology Club
The Cosmetology Club follows current standards and practices of the beauty industry to allow students to do outreach activities. These activities include other clubs of CSM and special events that need services performed in our industry.
Advisor
Becky Boosalis
(650) 574-6616
boosalisolerm@smccd.edu
Meetings
1st Tuesdays, 11:30 AM
Building 5, Room 202
CSM Democrats
The CSM Democrats provides opportunities for students to discuss and learn about politics, and support the Democratic Party.
Advisor
Lee Ryan Miller
(650) 574-6474
millerlee@smccd.edu
Meetings
Wednesdays, 1:10 PM
Building 16, Room 209
Dental Assisting Club
We are dental assisting students working to fund raise for our graduation and help pay fees for our State Board tests.
Advisor
Beth LaRochelle
(650) 574-6211
larochelleb@smccd.edu

Michele Weinstein
(650) 378-7301x19482
weinsteinm@smccd.edu
Meetings
1st Mondays, 12 PM
Building 5, Room 354
Engineering Club Advisor
Laura Demsetz
(650) 574-6617
demsetz@smccd.edu
Meetings
Fridays, 2 PM
Building 19, Room 042
EOPS Club
For student outreach and for students to interact with each other in helping them reach the educational goals and to be successful. Also, to work as a team by engaging in club meetings, fund-raiser etc.
Advisor
John Vehikite
(650) 574-6513
vehikitej@smccd.edu
Meetings
Wednesdays, 1:10 PM
Building 10, Room 110
Fashion Club
Calling all fashionistas! The Fashion Club is all about fun with fashion and freedom of self expression! We strive to inspire others to express themselves freely in fashion and to love themselves inside and out! Hosting monthly fashion shows, creating fun DIY projects, and sharing the love of fashion, the Fashion Club is the perfect club to join! Whether you love to sew, draw, style, or create, or you simply want to learn more about fashion, the Fashion Club welcomes all!
Advisor
Diana Bennett
(650) 358-6769
bennettd@smccd.edu
Meetings
Wednesdays, 12:10 PM
Building 14, Room 118
Filipino Students Association
Our mission is to bring Filipino students together to enrich themselves in their culture as well as spreading the Filipino culture to the community at College of San Mateo.
Advisor
Lisa Melnick
(650) 378-7301x19315
melnickl@smccd.edu

Aaron Schaefer
(650) 574-6141
schaefera@smccd.edu
Meetings
Wednesdays, 2:10 PM
Building 16, Room 106
Fine Arts Club Advisor
Rebecca Alex
(650) 574-6291
alexr@smccd.edu
Meetings
First Mondays, 4:15 PM
Building 4, Room 111
Gay Straight Alliance
Provides a safe place on campus for the LGBT community and helps to spread awareness on campus.
Advisor
Henry Villareal
(650) 574-6590
villarealh@smccd.edu

Fauzi Hamadeh
(650) 574-6349
hamadehf@smccd.edu
Meetings
Mondays, 2:10 PM
Building 18, Room 207
International Club
The CSM International Student Club is a club that is mainly made up of international students who come together to share ideas and experiences of their lives prior to and post coming to the United States. We do have locals in the club sharing their thoughts about their lives and they learn about and get insight on the lives of others who were not raised in the United States. The club’s mission is to raise cultural awareness in the CSM community and contribute to the diverse campus atmosphere.

Advisor
Brandon Smith
(650) 574-6342
smithbrandon@smccd.edu
Meetings
Thursdays, 1:10 PM
Building 14, Room 102
InterVarsity Christian Fellowship
Intervarsity Christian Fellowship at CSM is a group of students who follow Jesus as Lord and savior, believing that the world and all of us were created in the image of God (imAGo-DEi in Latin) and seek and set up imAGo-DEi at College of San Mateo! We do through weekly bible discussions, prayer, service projects and outreach events!
Advisor
Kenneth Brown
(650) 574-6249
brownkm@smccd.edu

Mark Still
(650) 574-6639
still@smccd.edu

Cheryl Gregory
(650) 574-6307
gregory@smccd.edu

Beth Todd
(650) 378-7301x19455
toddbeth@smccd.edu
Meetings
4th Wednesday, 5:30 PM
Building 10, Room 421
League of Legends Club
The League of Legends Club is an organization that brings together a community of different strategies and perspectives of the game. We strive to bring together a community of gamers, both casual and hardcore. The club will discuss game changes, host tournaments and analyze professional and personal plays, as well as teaching and playing each other. Remember, it’s not e-league-le to have fun!
Advisor
Rudy Ramirez
(650) 574-6372
ramirezr@smccd.edu
Meetings
Mondays, 2:30 PM
Building 14, Room 118
Makerspace Club
The CSM Makerspace Club is a community of students interested in promoting creativity through different projects involving electronics, crafts and media.

Advisor
Lia Thomas
(650) 378-7301x19592
thomasl@smccd.edu

Lorrita Ford
(650) 574-6569
fordl@smccd.edu
Meetings
Every other Wednesday, 11:30 AM
Building 9, Classroom
Nursing Student Association (NSA)
NSA group members are actively involved in organizing many activities such as: fund raising, community service, and annual career fair, and planning the pinning ceremony for graduates of the program amongst other things.
Advisor
Elizabeth Smith
(650) 574-6692
smithe@smccd.edu
Meetings
Mondays, 9 AM
Building 5, Room 339
Open Heart Yoga
Open Heart Yoga is an organization of current and former students from the 200-Hour RYT Program at the College of San Mateo. Other students interested in yoga are also welcome to join. Our purpose is to connect with our community, provide mutual support for one another and create opportunities for our members to grow as yoga practitioners and teachers. We lead yoga classes once a week that are available to the public. We also host yoga workshops that are open to the public. These workshops provide continuing yoga education for our members and the surrounding yoga community.
Advisor
Denaya Dailey
daileyd@smccd.edu
Meetings
Tuesdays, 2:15 PM
Building 5, Spinning Room
Performance Dance Ensemble (PDE)
collegeofsanmateo.edu/pde
If you like to dance and you are a CSM Student, join Performance Dance Ensemble. Students choreograph, dance, and perform.
Advisor
Denaya Dailey
daileyd@smccd.edu
Meetings
Tuesdays & Thursdays, 12:30 PM
Building 8, Small Gym
Phi Theta Kappa (PTK)
collegeofsanmateo.edu/ptk
facebook.com/ptk.at.csm
Phi Theta Kappa is an International Honor Society focusing on recognizing the academic achievements for members through the yearly projects and events.
Advisor
Jean Mach
(650) 574-6353
mach@smccd.edu

Henry Villareal
(650) 574-6590
villarealh@smccd.edu
Meetings
Tuesdays, 1 PM
Building 14, Room 206
Polynesian Club
The Polynesian Club encourages Polynesian culture, as well as provides support for Polynesian students in school.

Advisor
Finausina Tovo
(650) 574-6417
tovof@smccd.edu

Deborah Laulusa
(650) 574-6405
laulusa@smccd.edu
Meetings
Tuesdays, 12:30 PM
Building 10, Room 192
Psychology Club
A club that explores the vast major of psychology. We do this through the use of speakers, various events and volunteer work.
Advisor
Denise Toomer
(650) 574-6145
toomerd@smccd.edu
Meetings
Tuesdays, 2:10 PM
Building 10, Room 193
Puente Club
Puente Club encourages and aids underrepresented students to transfer to a 4 year institution by: sharing on-campus opportunities through events, connecting Puente students, raising money for scholarships, advocating involvement on campus and larger community, recruiting Puentistas, and creating a familia-support system. The Puente Club is both an academic and non-academic club, and promotes personal and academic development.
Advisor
Jon Kitamura
(650) 574-6554
kitamuraj@smccd.edu

Lorena Gonzalez
(650) 574-6226
gonzalezl@smccd.edu
Meetings
Thursdays, 12:30 PM
Building 14, Room 206
Russian Culture Club
Sharing Russian Culture, customs and traditions, etc.

Advisor
Rudy Ramirez
(650) 574-6372
ramirezr@smccd.edu
Meetings
Tuesdays, 3:10 PM
Building 14, Room 118
Salsa Connection
The mission of Salsa Connection is to cultivate positive relationships with each other as students and the community as a whole through salsa and other forms of Latin dance.
Advisor
Rudy Ramirez
(650) 574-6372
ramirezr@smccd.edu
Meetings
Thursdays, 1:10 PM
Building 14, Room 104
Speech and Debate Club
The Speech and Debate team at College of San Mateo will strive to enhance students’ argumentative skills, creativity, logic, and reasoning, speaking abilities and confidence. The club will practice various forms of debate and will learn different styles of speech delivery. The club will focus on fostering student leadership and determination. Through these activities students will gain a better knowledge and understanding of social, political, and economic issues.
Advisor
Lisa Perry
(650) 378-7301x19290
perryl@smccd.edu
Meetings
Mondays, 1 PM
Building 10, Room 421
The Project (Honors)
The Project supplements the Honors project by creating a fun inviting community, promote academics, and extend the opportunity to other students that would like to be a part of our community. We organize activities and community service opportunities, while always looking for ways to be active on campus. We also provide academic support for our members in the form of supplemental lectures and workshops. Overall we try to make our students’ time at CSM the best it can be so stop by and see how you could take part too!
Advisor
Tim Maxwell
(650) 574-6332
maxwellt@smccd.edu
Meetings
Fridays, 2 PM
Honors Lounge
(Building 10, Room 453)
Transfer Club
Network with fellow CSM students about how to transfer to your desired college/university. Gain leadership experience for your application and academic resume. Meet various college/university representatives. Be mentored by your CSM peers in desired majors. Participate in transfer related activities and workshops. Plan and organize university campus tours. Coordinate campus club activities and events. Gain a competitive edge in understanding the transfer process.
Advisor
Mike Mitchell
(650) 574-6662
mitchellm@smccd.edu
Meetings
Wednesdays, 2:30 PM
Building 10, Room 340

Updated Thursday, March 6, 2014