Student Clubs & Organizations at College of San Mateo - Clubs & Organizations
skip directly to Main Content Navigation Search A-Z Index Find People Top Story Breadcrumbs Footer
Student Clubs & Organizations
Clubs & Organizations

Spring 2016
If you have any questions, please contact the group's advisor or the Center for Student Life at csmstudentlife@smccd.edu.

Active Minds
facebook.com/csm.activeminds
We offer a safe zone where any student can come talk about anything on their minds in a welcoming, understanding place. Or students can just come hang out. We also fight the stigma surrounding mental health. We are here for all students and participate in and hold events, collaborate with other clubs and groups, and do other fun activities.
Advisors
Makiko Ueda
uedam@smccd.edu
650.574.6125

Aaron Schaefer
schaefera@smccd.edu
650.574.6141

Fauzi Hamadeh
hamadehf@smccd.edu
650.574.6141
Meetings
Thursdays
1:10 PM - 2 PM
Building 14, Room 215
Alpha Gamma Sigma (AGS)
collegeofsanmateo.edu/ags
facebook.com/ags.csm
twitter.com/agscsm
CSM Eta Chapter is the local chapter of the California Community College Honor Society, Alpha Gamma Sigma (AGS). AGS maintains academic standards for induction, continued membership, and permanent membership. Membership during a semester is based on a student's GPA as of the previous semester at CSM or elsewhere. New members must have completed a minimum of 12 graded college units and achieved a semester GPA of 3.30 or higher to be invited to join the local chapter. Continuing membership must maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or higher. There is no unit requirement for continuing membership.
Advisors
Timothy Maxwell
maxwellt@smccd.edu
650.574.6332

Sara Lawrence
lawrences@smccd.edu
650.574.6652

Jeramy Wallace
wallacej@smccd.edu
650.574.6355
Meetings
Tuesdays
1:30 PM - 3 PM
Building 18, Room 308
Animal Volunteer Club
facebook.com/CSM-Animal-Volunteer-Club-984084291643958
Advisor
Kathleen Steele
steele@smccd.edu
650.574.6683
Meetings
Mondays
2:10 PM - 3:10 PM
Building 18, Room 302
Anime Club Advisor
Li Shao
shaol@smccd.edu
650.378.7301x19653
Meetings
Fridays
1:30 PM - 4 PM
Building 18, Room 308
Architecture Club Advisors
John Lucchesi
lucchesij@smccd.edu

George Sun
sung@smccd.edu
650.378.7301x19332
Meetings
Tuesdays
12 PM - 12:30 PM
Building 19, Room 114
Botany Club
Mailing List Sign-Up: http://eepurl.com/bIo259
facebook.com/groups/421679614689938/
Advisor
Paul Hankamp
hankampp@smccd.edu
650.574.6626
Meetings
1st Fridays of the Month
1:10 PM - 2 PM
Building 36, Room 200
Brunch Club Advisor
Molly Lynch
lynchm@smccd.edu
Meetings
Mondays
2:10 PM - 3 PM
Building 16, Room 140
Business Club
facebook.com/groups/csmbusinessclub
Advisors
Robert Shoffner
shoffnerr@smccd.edu
650.574.6402

Peter VonBleichert
vonbleichertp@smccd.edu
650.574.6266
Meetings
Thursdays
1:10 PM - 2:15 PM
Building 14, Room 201
Catalyst Project
facebook.com/CatalystSFMetro
twitter.com/CatalystSFMetro
Advisor
Warren Shelby
shelbyw@smccd.edu
Meetings
Fridays
1:10 PM - 2 PM
Building 14, Room 116
Charity Club Advisor
Michele Titus
titusm@smccd.edu
Meetings
Wednesdays
3 PM - 4 PM
Building 14, Room 102
Chinese Student Association
facebook.com/CSMCSA
Advisor
Makiko Ueda
uedam@smccd.edu
650.574.6125
Meetings
Tuesdays
1:10 PM - 2 PM
Building 14, Room 117
Christian Students Advisor
Julia Henley
henleyj@smccd.edu
Meetings
Wednesdays
1:10 PM - 2 PM
Building 14, Room 116
Computer Science Club
facebook.com/groups/760331147414910/
twitter.com/CSCatCSM
Advisor
Mounjed Moussalem
mousalemm@smccd.edu
Meetings
1st and 3rd Fridays
2:30 PM - 3:30 PM
Building 19, Room 100
Conservation Society Advisor
Rudy Ramirez
ramirezr@smccd.edu
650.574.6372
Meetings
1st and 3rd Tuesdays
12:10 PM - 1 PM
TBA
Cosmetology Club
collegeofsanmateo.edu/cosmetology
facebook.com/csmcosmetology
Advisors
Aurora Medrano
medranoa@smccd.edu
650.574.6678

Cynthia James
jamesc@smccd.edu
650.574.6636

Kimberly Morgan
morgank@smccd.edu
650.574.6329
Meetings
Every other Tuesday
3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Building 5, Room 202
CSM Democrats
facebook.com/collegesmdemocratsclub
Advisor
Lee Ryan Miller
millerlee@smccd.edu
650.574.6474
Meetings
Thursdays
12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Building 16, Room 209
Cycling Club
facebook.com/CyclingClubofCSM
Advisors
Chris Woo
wooc@smccd.edu
650.574.6542

Michael Claire
clairem@smccd.edu
650.574.6222
Meetings
1st & 3rd Thursday
2:10 PM - 2:40 PM
Building 16, Room 140
Dental Assisting Club Advisor
Beth LaRochelle
larochelleb@smccd.edu
650.574.6211
Meetings
Mondays
11:30 AM - 12 PM
Building 5, Room 330
Engineering Club
Blog: csmec.blogspot.com
facebook.com/groups/csmengineeringclub
Advisor
Laura Demsetz
demsetz@smccd.edu
650.574.6617
Meetings
Fridays
2:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Building 19, Room 042
EOPS Club
collegeofsanmateo.edu/eops/club.asp
facebook.com/collegeofsanmateoeops

Advisors
Ruth Turner
turner@smccd.edu
650.574.6154

Arianna Avendano
avendanoa@smccd.edu
650.574.6513

Katrina Evasco
evascok@smccd.edu
650.574.6151
Meetings
Wednesdays
1:10 PM - 2:10 PM
Building 10, Room 180
Fine Arts Club
collegeofsanmateo.edu/studioart/fineartsclub.asp
facebook.com/csmfineartsclub
The CSM Fine Arts Club is a club for all visual artists at College of San Mateo.  Members plan and host critique groups, exhibitions, workshops and lectures, paint murals, create websites and design promotional materials, web share and offer their work for sale and/or rental to members of the community.
Advisor
Rebecca Alex
alexr@smccd.edu
650.574.6291
Meetings
Feb. 4, March 3, April 7, May 5
4:15 PM - 5:30 PM
Building 4, Room 111
Gaming & Technology Club
facebook.com/groups/325059201028481/
Advisor
Christopher Walker
walkerc@smccd.edu
650.574.6321
Meetings
Fridays
2:10 PM - 3 PM
Building 10, Room 194
Gender and Sexuality Awareness Association (GSAA)
facebook.com/csmgsaa
Advisor
Jackie Santizo
santizoj@smccd.edu
650.574.6463
Meetings
Mondays
2:10 - 3 PM
Building 10, Room 192
International Club Advisor
Danni Redding Lapuz
reddinglapuzd@smccd.edu
650.574.6501
Meetings
1st and 3rd Tuesday
2:10 PM - 3:00 PM
Building 14, Room 118
InterVarsity Christian Fellowship
ivatcsm.org
facebook.com/ivatcsm
Advisors
Cheryl Gregory
gregory@smccd.edu
650.574.6307

SerKuang Chen
chenserkuang@smccd.edu
Meetings
1st and 3rd Thursday
4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Building 10, Room 193
Lion Dance Team
facebook.com/csmliondanceteam
Advisor
Danni Redding Lapuz
reddinglapuzd@smccd.edu
650.574.6501
Meetings
Thursdays
2:15 PM - 3:15 PM
Building 10, Room 310
Math Club Advisors
Shawn Westmoreland
westmorelands@smccd.edu
650.574.6684

Harry Nishanian
nishanianh@smccd.edu
650.574.6219
Meetings
Thursdays
2:30 PM - 3:30 PM
Building 14, Room 118
Medical Scholars Club
facebook.com/anatomyclubcsm
Advisors
Theresa Martin
martin@smccd.edu
650.574.6252

Lakshmikanta Sengupta
senguptal@smccd.edu
650.378.7301x19160
Meetings
1st & 3rd Friday
12:10 PM - 1:00 PM
Building 36, Room 200
Model UN Club Advisor
Leighton Armitage
armitage@smccd.edu
650.574.6373
Meetings
Mondays
1:10 PM - 2 PM
Building 18, Room 308
Nursing Student Association
Blog: csmrn.blogspot.com
collegeofsanmateo.edu/nursing/nursingstudentsassociation.asp
Advisors
Janis Wisherop
wisheropj@smccd.edu
650.574.6352

Jane McAteer
mcateer@smccd.edu
650.574.6218
Meetings
Mondays
9 AM - 10 AM
Building 5, Room 339
Open Heart Yoga
collegeofsanmateo.edu/yoga/openheart.asp
openheartyogis.com
facebook.com/openheartyogis
twitter.com/openheartyogis
Advisor
Denaya Dailey
daileyd@smccd.edu
650.378.7325
Meetings
Mondays and Wednesdays
2:15 PM - 3:30 PM
Building 8, Room 203
Performance Dance Ensemble
collegeofsanmateo.edu/pde
facebook.com/performancedanceensemble
twitter.com/csmdance
Advisor
Denaya Dailey
daileyd@smccd.edu
650.378.7325

Molly Lynch
lynchm@smccd.edu
Meetings
Tuesdays and Thursdays
2 PM - 3:30 PM
Building 8, Room 203
Phi Theta Kappa (PTK)
collegeofsanmateo.edu/ptk
ptk.org
facebook.com/ptk.at.csm
Advisors
Ron Andrade
andrader@smccd.edu
650.574.6571

Meetings
Mondays
1:10 PM - 2:00 PM
Building 14, Room 206
Physics Club
collegeofsanmateo.edu/physics/club.asp
facebook.com/groups/649941068376424/
Advisors
David Locke
locke@smccd.edu
650.574.6624

Alex Wong
wongalex@smccd.edu
650.574.6603
Meetings
Fridays
1:10 PM - 2:00 PM
Building 36, Room 125
Polynesian Club
collegeofsanmateo.edu/mana/polynesianclub.asp
The Polynesian Club focuses on the many islands within the South Pacific. We do performances through the semester, highlighting the richness of Polynesian culture. We also hold speaker series, high school and community outreach, and many other fun activities.
Advisor
Ursula Ann Siataga
siatagau@smccd.edu

David Palaita
palaitad@smccd.edu
650.574.6653

Fi Tovo
tovof@smccd.edu
650.574.6417
Meetings
Wednesdays
1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Building 18, Room 112
Psychology Club Advisor
Denise Toomer
toomerd@smccd.edu
650.574.6145
Meetings
Tuesdays
2:10 PM - 3 PM
Building 10, Room 194
Puente Latinos Unidos
facebook.com/Puente-Program-Puente-Club-CSM-313181032159611/
Puente Latinos Unidos promotes the richness and diversity within the Latino culture while striving to fulfill the Puente Mission of transferring to a 4-year University, earn college degrees and return to your community as mentors and leaders. Puente Latinos Unidos members build community amongst each other through the various cultural, political, educational and social events organized. Elevating Latino/a student success through academic excellence is at the heart of Puente Latinos Unidos at College of San Mateo.
Advisors
Lorena Gonzalez
gonzalezl@smccd.edu
650.574.6226

Jon Kitamura
kitamuraj@smccd.edu
650.574.6554
Meetings
Mondays
12:30 PM - 1:30 PM
Building 18, Room 112
Robotics Club Advisor
Alex Wong
wongalex@smccd.edu
650.574.6603
Meetings
Thursdays
3 PM - 4 PM
Library Makerspace (Building 9)
Statistics Club Advisor
Rudy Ramirez
ramirezr@smccd.edu
650.574.6372
Meetings
1st and 3rd Fridays
12:10 PM - 1 PM
Building 16, Room 140
Student Veterans of America, CSM Chapter
collegeofsanmateo.edu/veterans/veteransclub.asp
facebook.com/CSMVets
Advisor
Justine Evirs
evirsj@smccd.edu
650.574.6625
Meetings
Wednesdays
1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Building 16, Room 143
Transfer Club
collegeofsanmateo.edu/transfer/transferclub.asp
facebook.com/csmtransferclub
Gain leadership experience for university applications and academic resumes; network with fellow CSM students about how to transfer to your desired college/university; meet with various college and university representatives; be mentored by CSM peers in desired majors; participate in transfer related activities and workshops; plan and organize university campus tours; coordinate campus club activities and events and gain a competitive edge in understaning the transfer process.
Advisor
Mike Mitchell
mitchellm@smccd.edu
650.574.6662
Meetings
1st & 3rd Wednesdays
2:30 PM – 3:30 PM
Building 10, Room 340 (Counseling Center)
Umoja Black Student Union Advisors
Frederick Gaines
gainesf@smccd.edu
650.574.6183

Jeramy Wallace
wallacej@smccd.edu
650.574.6355
Meetings
Mondays
2:15 PM - 3:15 PM
Building 18, Room 112
Writers' Project
collegeofsanmateo.edu/honorsproject/thelabyrinth.asp
facebook.com/groups/464522943704285
Advisors
Jill Kolongowski
kolongowskij@smccd.edu

Mitchell Smith
smithmitchel@smccd.edu
650.378.7301x19263
Meetings
Fridays
1:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Building 10, Room 453 (Honors Lounge)

Updated Tuesday, April 12, 2016