Student Clubs & Organizations at College of San Mateo - Clubs & Organizations
skip directly to Main Content Navigation Search A-Z Index Find People Top Story Breadcrumbs Footer
Student Clubs & Organizations
Clubs & Organizations

Fall 2014

If you have any questions, please contact the group's advisor or the Center for Student Life at csmstudentlife@smccd.edu.

Active Minds
facebook.com/csm.activeminds
Advisor
Aaron Schaefer
(650) 574-6141
schaefera@smccd.edu

Fauzi Hamadeh
(650) 574-6141
hamadehf@smccd.edu

Makiko Ueda
(650) 574-6125
uedam@smccd.edu
Meetings
Wednesdays, 4 PM
Building 10, Room 194
Alpha Gamma Sigma (AGS)
collegeofsanmateo.edu/ags
The Alpha Gamma Sigma (AGS) Honor Society is a statewide organization that encourages and provides opportunities for participation in community service events in addition to promoting and recognizing scholastic achievement. The executives of Alpha Gamma Sigma serve to facilitate each member’s success in these areas in addition to helping them transfer in the future.
Advisor
David Laderman
(650) 574-6302
laderman@smccd.edu

Tim Maxwell
(650) 574-6332
maxwellt@smccd.edu

Jeramy Wallace
(650) 574-6355
wallacej@smccd.edu
Meetings
Tuesdays, 1 PM
Building 18, Room 308
Anatomy Club Advisor
Theresa Martin
(650) 574-6252
martin@smccd.edu

Lakshmikanta Sengupta
(650) 378-7301x19160
senguptal@smccd.edu
Meetings
Fridays, 1:10 PM
Building 36, Room 200
Anime Club Advisor
Michele Titus
titusm@smccd.edu

Meetings
Fridays, 1:30 PM
Building 18, Room 308
Architecture Club Advisor
John Lucchesi
lucchesij@smccd.edu
Meetings
Wednesdays, 1 PM
Building 19, Room 114
Astronomy Outreach Club Advisor
Darryl Stanford
(650) 574-6256
stanfordd@smccd.edu

Mohsen Janatpour
(650) 574-6272
janatpour@smccd.edu

Dean Drumheller
(650) 378-7241
drumhellerd@smccd.edu
Meetings
Thursdays, 1:30 PM
Building 36, Room 114
Botany Club
The Botany Club loves all things plants! We do garden clean-ups and install native plants on campus, go on hikes, and visit botanical gardens in the Bay Area.
Advisor
Paul Hankamp
(650) 378-7301x19481
hankampp@smccd.edu
Meetings
1st Thursday, 5:20 PM
Building 36, Room 200
Charity Club

Advisor
Mario Mihelcic
(650) 574-6542
mihelcicm@smccd.edu

Meetings
Thursdays, 2:30 PM
Building 14, Room 117
Chinese Students Association
The aim for our club is to provide a friendly atmosphere for Chinese students and help them to adjust their lives in CSM. We also want to spread Chinese culture and let more people know Chinese culture. We welcome students with different cultural backgrounds to join us.
Advisor
Makiko Ueda
(650) 574-6125
uedam@smccd.edu
Meetings
Thursdays, 2 PM
Building 14, Room 118
Cosmetology Club Advisor
Becky Boosalis
(650) 574-6616
boosalisolerm@smccd.edu

Aurora Medrano
(650) 574-6678
medranoa@smccd.edu
Meetings
1st Tuesdays, 11:30 AM
Building 5, Room 202
Engineering Club Advisor
Laura Demsetz
(650) 574-6617
demsetz@smccd.edu
Meetings
Fridays, 2 PM
Building 19, Room 042
EOPS Club
For student outreach and for students to interact with each other in helping them reach the educational goals and to be successful. Also, to work as a team by engaging in club meetings, fund-raiser etc.
Advisor
John Vehikite
(650) 574-6513
vehikitej@smccd.edu
Meetings
Wednesdays, 1:10 PM
Building 10, Room 110
Fashion Club
Calling all fashionistas! The Fashion Club is all about fun with fashion and freedom of self expression! We strive to inspire others to express themselves freely in fashion and to love themselves inside and out! Hosting monthly fashion shows, creating fun DIY projects, and sharing the love of fashion, the Fashion Club is the perfect club to join! Whether you love to sew, draw, style, or create, or you simply want to learn more about fashion, the Fashion Club welcomes all!
Advisor
Diana Bennett
(650) 358-6769
bennettd@smccd.edu
Meetings
Thursdays, 12:30 PM
Building 14, Room 116
Filipino Students Association Advisor
Lisa Melnick
(650) 378-7301x19315
melnickl@smccd.edu

Aaron Schaefer
(650) 574-6141
schaefera@smccd.edu
Meetings
Thursdays, 2:15 PM
Building 16, Room 107
Fine Arts Club Advisor
Rebecca Alex
(650) 574-6291
alexr@smccd.edu
Meetings
First Mondays, 4:15 PM
Building 4, Room 111
Gay-Straight Alliance Advisor
Henry Villareal
(650) 574-6590
villarealh@smccd.edu

Fauzi Hamadeh
(650) 574-6349
hamadehf@smccd.edu
Meetings
Wednesdays, 12:30 PM
Building 16, Room 140
International Club Advisor
Rudy Ramirez
(650) 574-6372
ramirezr@smccd.edu
Meetings
Tuesdays, 1 PM
Building 14, Room 102
Intramurals Club Advisor
Mario Mihelcic
(650) 574-6542
mihelcicm@smccd.edu
Meetings
Wednesdays, 2 PM
Building 8, Room 202
League of Legends Club Advisor
Rudy Ramirez
(650) 574-6372
ramirezr@smccd.edu
Meetings
Thursdays, 1:30 PM
Building 14, Room 115
Media Club Advisor
Michelle Brown
(650) 524-6934
brownm@smccd.edu
Meetings
Tuesdays, 2:30 PM
Building 10, Room 193
Nursing Student Association (NSA)
NSA group members are actively involved in organizing many activities such as: fund raising, community service, and annual career fair, and planning the pinning ceremony for graduates of the program amongst other things.
Advisor
Janis Wisherop
(650) 574-6352
wisheropj@smccd.edu
Meetings
Mondays, 9 AM
Building 5, Room 339
Performance Dance Ensemble (PDE)
collegeofsanmateo.edu/pde
If you like to dance and you are a CSM Student, join Performance Dance Ensemble. Students choreograph, dance, and perform.
Advisor
Denaya Dailey
daileyd@smccd.edu
Meetings
Mondays & Wednesdays, 1:30 PM
Mondays: Building 8, Room 202
Wednesdays: Building 8, Room 203
Phi Theta Kappa (PTK)
collegeofsanmateo.edu/ptk
facebook.com/ptk.at.csm
Phi Theta Kappa is an International Honor Society focusing on recognizing the academic achievements for members through the yearly projects and events.
Advisor
Ron Andrade
(650) 574-6571
andrader@smccd.edu

Henry Villareal
(650) 574-6590
villarealh@smccd.edu
Meetings
Mondays, 1:15 PM
Building 14, Room 202
Polynesian Club Advisor
Fi Tovo
(650) 574-6417
tovof@smccd.edu
Meetings
Mondays, 12:30 PM
Building 14, Room 102
Precisely Pilates Club Advisor
Sarah Artha Negara
(650) 378-7301x19334
arthanegaras@smccd.edu
Meetings
Thursdays, 1 PM
Building 8, Room B1
Puente Club Advisor
Jon Kitamura
(650) 574-6554
kitamuraj@smccd.edu

Lorena Gonzalez
(650) 574-6226
gonzalezl@smccd.edu
Meetings
Wednesdays, 1:10 PM
Building 18, Room 112
Soccer Club Advisor
Aaron Schaefer
(650) 574-6141
schaefera@smccd.edu

Brian Tupper
tupper@smccd.edu
Meetings
Last Tuesdays, 2:35 PM
Building 17, Room 112
Transfer Club
Network with fellow CSM students about how to transfer to your desired college/university. Gain leadership experience for your application and academic resume. Meet various college/university representatives. Be mentored by your CSM peers in desired majors. Participate in transfer related activities and workshops. Plan and organize university campus tours. Coordinate campus club activities and events. Gain a competitive edge in understanding the transfer process.
Advisor
Mike Mitchell
(650) 574-6662
mitchellm@smccd.edu
Meetings
1st & 3rd Wednesdays, 2:30 PM
Building 10, Room 340
The Writers' Project Advisor
Mitchell Smith
(650) 378-7301x19263
smithmitchel@smccd.edu

Rob Komas
(650) 574-6242
komasr@smccd.edu
Meetings
Fridays, 2 PM
Building 10, Room 453


Updated Friday, September 26, 2014