Career Services at College of San Mateo - Student Employment
skip directly to Main Content Navigation Search A-Z Index Ask the Bulldog Find People Top Story Breadcrumbs Footer
Career Services

Student Employment

Students looking for a job on campus should contact the following individuals to ask if they are currently hiring any student workers. Many jobs on campus are available only through Federal Work Study and/ or CalWORKS. Visit or call financial aid ((650) 574-6146, Building 10, Room 360) to see if you are qualified for these programs. To ensure you qualify, ALWAYS submit your FAFSA on time (deadline is March 2nd) and check the “I would like federal work study” box on the FAFSA application. Unfortunately, Federal Work Study and CalWORKS are not available for international students.

 

If you want a job in a certain area, but one is not immediately available, give the department contact your resume to keep for future semesters and check in each semester. Most department contacts have other full-time jobs, so please be patient when waiting for return calls or emails.

 

DepartmentContact Information
Admissions and Records Lizette Lopez lopezk@smccd.edu (650) 574-6118
Athletics/Equipment Manager Ken Haren haren@smccd.edu (650) 574-6452
Bookstore, Paws for Coffee, Campus Copy and Post James Peacock peacockj@smccd.edu (650) 574-6277
Center for Student Life and Leadership Development Fauzi Hamadeh hamadehf@smccd.edu (650) 574-6279
Child Development Center Maggie Barrientos barrientosm@smccd.edu (650) 574-6279

Computer and Information Science (CIS) Lab

Students who have completed CIS or ENGR are preferred during the shifts where those departments are using the lab. Check our lab webpage for details

David Chin chind@smccd.edu 19-124

Communications Center

Only accepts Federal Work Study students

Jacqueline Swan swanj@smccd.edu

Counseling Division

Hires student assistants to help with the counseling front desk

Helia Ying yingh@smccd.edu

District Offices

Hires student assistants for the front desk

Gina Dizon dizong@smccd.edu
Disability Resource Center (DRC) Audra Fernandez fernandeza@smccd.edu (650) 574-6438
Extended Opportunity Programs and Services (EOPS) Arianna Avendano avendanoa@smccd.edu (650) 574-6513
Financial Aid Office Claudia Manjivar menjivar@smccd.edu (650) 574-6146
International Student Office Danni Redding Lapuz reddinglapuzd@smccd.edu (650) 574-6501
Information Technology Services (ITS)  Annette Perot perot@smccd.edu
Learning Center Ron Andrade andrader@smccd.edu (650) 574-6571
Library Nick Dellaporta dellaporta@smccd.edu (650) 358-6738
Marketing and Community Relations Richard Rojo rojor@smccd.edu (650) 574-6538

Math Resource Center (MRC)

Students must have completed Math 251 (Calculus I) with a B+ or higher

Lisa Clayton claytonl@smccd.edu
Reading/ESL Center Jill Haberlin haberlinj@smccd.edu (650) 574-6437
San Mateo Athletic Club Visit the SMAC Careers webpage to apply
Student Ambassadors Program Estela Garcia garciaestela@smccd.edu (650) 574-6646
Writing Center Marget McGugan mcguganm@smccd.edu (650) 574-6436