Center for Academic Excellence (CAE) at College of San Mateo - Center for Academic Excellence Committee
Veterans Day - No Classes
Wednesday, Nov 11, 2020
Last day to withdraw with a "W" grade
Tuesday, Nov 17, 2020
Thanksgiving Holiday
No classes Nov 26-29, 2020
Sexual Misconduct & Title IX
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
Center for Academic Excellence (CAE)

Center for Academic Excellence Committee

The Center for Academic Excellence Committee (CAEC) is an independent subcommittee of the College of San Mateo Academic Senate.


The Center for Academic Excellence Committee shall report and recommend to Council and advise the Dean of Academic Support and Learning Technologies regarding professional development activities. The primary focus and purview of the committee shall be faculty professional development and pedagogy, but the committee shall also oversee and facilitate professional development for staff, and other college employees. The CAEC may establish committees as needed on other professional development matters, as it deems necessary. All responsibilities of the CAEC shall be carried out in accordance with applicable State laws.

Duties and Responsibilities

    Oversee, develop and facilitate professional development activities for faculty and staff. Inform faculty of pertinent local and statewide opportunities for professional growth. Collaborate with college administration and staff to insure support and innovation regarding professional development. Collaborate with the Committee on Instruction, the College Assessment Committee, the division of Academic Support and Learning Technologies, and other relevant college programs and services to achieve high-quality instruction and student success.

Three Year Plan

The 2016-2019 Professional Development Plan was developed by CAEC, and approved by Academic Senate Governing Council on March 22, 2016. The plan was presented to Institutional Planning Committee on April 22, 2016.

Committee Structure

Center for Academic Excellence Committee shall consist of representatives from the faculty, as well as representatives from staff and administration. The faculty member serving as Professional Development Coordinator shall chair the committee. Each instructional division, including counseling, shall elect one representative to the committee; other committee members will include a library faculty representative, a staff representative, the Dean of Academic Support and Learning Technologies, and two student representatives. The chair will report at least monthly to Governing Council.

As of Fall 2019, the College on Academic Excellence (CAE) has joined the other two independent Academic Senate subcommittees (College Assessment Committee, and the Library Advisory Committee) to form the Committee on Teaching and Learning.  

The Committee on Teaching and Learning (CTL) oversees, coordinates, and reports on activities that promote continuous improvement in teaching and learning. The CTL supports the Academic Senate’s goals and the college’s institutional priorities by collaborating on professional development activities, promoting practices for assessing student learning and success, and advancing the mission of the CSM library. The committee shall consist of three subcommittees - assessment, library, and professional development - that will meet at least once a month.

Members of the Committee on Teaching and Learning (CTL) 2019-2020

NameRepresentation Email AddressOffice Phone
Liz Schuler, Chair  Language Arts (650) 306-3336
Michael Vargas Counseling/Student Services (650) 574-6251
Denaya Dailey, Dance Kinesiology/Athletics/Dance (650) 574-7325
David McLain Classified (650) 574-6107
Erica Reynolds, DE Coordinator Classified (650) 574-6271
Melinda Nguyen Math/Science (650) 574-6199
Josephine Cheung Student Senate, ASCSM
Kevin Sinarle Counseling/Student Services (650) 378-7227
Madeleine Murphy, Chair / SLOAC Language Arts (650) 574-6344
Tabitha Conaway Academic Support / Equity (650) 574-6570
Tarana Chapple ASLT (Administration) (650) 574-6572
Robbie Baden Language Arts (650) 574-6685
Michelle Brown Creative Arts/Social Science (650) 524-6934
Rachel Cunningham Math/Science (650) 574-6668
Heeju Jang Classified, PRIE (650) 574-6439
Chetesh Singh Student Senate, ASCSM  
Dave Danielson Creative Arts / Social Science (650) 574-6376
Anniqua Rana Language Arts (650) 574-6171
Tarana Chapple ASLT (Administration (650) 574-6572
Candela Gracierena Student Senate, ASCSM
Aurora Medrano Business/Tech (650) 574-6678
Steve Gonzales Business/Tech (650) 574-6238

Agendas & Meeting Summaries


Agendas Meeting Summaries


Agendas Meeting Summaries


Agendas Meeting Summaries


Agendas Meeting Summaries


Agendas Meeting Summaries


Agendas Meeting Summaries