Center for Academic Excellence (CAE) at College of San Mateo - Center for Academic Excellence Committee
Veterans Day - No Classes
Wednesday, Nov 11, 2020
Last day to withdraw with a "W" grade
Tuesday, Nov 17, 2020
Thanksgiving Holiday
No classes Nov 26-29, 2020
Sexual Misconduct & Title IX
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
Center for Academic Excellence (CAE)

Center for Academic Excellence Committee

The Center for Academic Excellence Committee (CAEC) is an independent subcommittee of the College of San Mateo Academic Senate.

Mission

The Center for Academic Excellence Committee shall report and recommend to Council and advise the Dean of Academic Support and Learning Technologies regarding professional development activities. The primary focus and purview of the committee shall be faculty professional development and pedagogy, but the committee shall also oversee and facilitate professional development for staff, and other college employees. The CAEC may establish committees as needed on other professional development matters, as it deems necessary. All responsibilities of the CAEC shall be carried out in accordance with applicable State laws.

Duties and Responsibilities

    Oversee, develop and facilitate professional development activities for faculty and staff. Inform faculty of pertinent local and statewide opportunities for professional growth. Collaborate with college administration and staff to insure support and innovation regarding professional development. Collaborate with the Committee on Instruction, the College Assessment Committee, the division of Academic Support and Learning Technologies, and other relevant college programs and services to achieve high-quality instruction and student success.

Three Year Plan

The 2016-2019 Professional Development Plan was developed by CAEC, and approved by Academic Senate Governing Council on March 22, 2016. The plan was presented to Institutional Planning Committee on April 22, 2016.

Committee Structure

Center for Academic Excellence Committee shall consist of representatives from the faculty, as well as representatives from staff and administration. The faculty member serving as Professional Development Coordinator shall chair the committee. Each instructional division, including counseling, shall elect one representative to the committee; other committee members will include a library faculty representative, a staff representative, the Dean of Academic Support and Learning Technologies, and two student representatives. The chair will report at least monthly to Governing Council.

As of Fall 2019, the College on Academic Excellence (CAE) has joined the other two independent Academic Senate subcommittees (College Assessment Committee, and the Library Advisory Committee) to form the Committee on Teaching and Learning.  

The Committee on Teaching and Learning (CTL) oversees, coordinates, and reports on activities that promote continuous improvement in teaching and learning. The CTL supports the Academic Senate’s goals and the college’s institutional priorities by collaborating on professional development activities, promoting practices for assessing student learning and success, and advancing the mission of the CSM library. The committee shall consist of three subcommittees - assessment, library, and professional development - that will meet at least once a month.
 

Members of the Committee on Teaching and Learning (CTL) 2019-2020


NameRepresentation Email AddressOffice Phone
       
COMMITTEE ON ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE     
Liz Schuler, Chair  Language Arts  schuler@smccd.edu (650) 306-3336
Michael Vargas Counseling/Student Services vargas@smccd.edu (650) 574-6251
Denaya Dailey, Dance Kinesiology/Athletics/Dance daileyd@smccd.edu (650) 574-7325
David McLain Classified mclaind@smccd.edu (650) 574-6107
Erica Reynolds, DE Coordinator Classified reynoldse@smccd.edu (650) 574-6271
Melinda Nguyen Math/Science nguyenm@smccd.edu (650) 574-6199
Josephine Cheung Student Senate, ASCSM josephinecheung@my.smccd.edu
 
       
COLLEGE ASSESSMENT COMMITTEE     
Kevin Sinarle Counseling/Student Services sinarle@smccd.edu (650) 378-7227
Madeleine Murphy, Chair / SLOAC Language Arts  murphym@smccd.edu (650) 574-6344
Tabitha Conaway Academic Support / Equity conawayt@smccd.edu (650) 574-6570
Tarana Chapple ASLT (Administration) chapplet@smccd.edu (650) 574-6572
Robbie Baden Language Arts badenr@smccd.edu (650) 574-6685
Michelle Brown Creative Arts/Social Science brownm@smccd.edu (650) 524-6934
Rachel Cunningham Math/Science cunninghamrachel@smccd.edu (650) 574-6668
Heeju Jang Classified, PRIE jangh@smccd.edu (650) 574-6439
Chetesh Singh Student Senate, ASCSM  cheteshsingh@my.smccd.edu  
       
LIBRARY ADVISORY COMMITTEE      
Dave Danielson Creative Arts / Social Science danielson@smccd.edu (650) 574-6376
Anniqua Rana Language Arts rana@smccd.edu (650) 574-6171
Tarana Chapple ASLT (Administration chapplet@smccd.edu (650) 574-6572
Candela Gracierena Student Senate, ASCSM candelagraciarena@my.smccd.edu
       
UNASSIGNED MEMBERS      
Aurora Medrano Business/Tech  medranoa@smccd.edu (650) 574-6678
Steve Gonzales Business/Tech  gonzaless@smccd.edu (650) 574-6238

Agendas & Meeting Summaries


2019-2020

Agendas Meeting Summaries

2018-2019

Agendas Meeting Summaries

2017-2018

Agendas Meeting Summaries

2016-2017

Agendas Meeting Summaries

2015-2016

Agendas Meeting Summaries

2014-2015

Agendas Meeting Summaries