Proposed Faculty Appointments

8.27.24

Tenure Evaluation Committees for 24 - 25

KINES/DANCE/ATHLETICS

Andrew Silva (Swim/Water Polo, Year 3)

Michelle Warner (Basketball) - Chair Nicole Borg (Softball) - Expert/perm Bret Pollack (Football) - 2 yr* **replacing Mikel Schmidt (rotating off)*

Committee was previously approved 5/14, but Mikel Schmidt asked to be removed. Mikel was rotating in this year; thus, has not actually served any time yet on this committee

COUNSELING

Brandon Williams (EOPS Counseling, Year 4)

Trang Luong (Counseling) - Chair/Expert* Roxana Rugliancich (EOPS Counseling) - perm Maggie Barrientos (CDC) - 2 yr **Replacing Lydia Chen (returning to chair the committee after maternity leave)*

Zulema Esparza (DRC Counseling, Year 3)

Kevin Sinarle (DRC Counseling) - Chair/Expert Lydia Chen (Counseling) - perm Emanuel "Manny" Delgado (Counseling) - 2 yr* **rotating in for Patrice Reed-Fort*

Melissa (Ehm) Manuofetoa (Counseling, Year 3)

Jennifer De La Cruz (Counseling) - Chair/Expert Roxana Rugliancich (EOPS Counseling) - perm Andy Gomez (Counseling) - 2 yr* *rotating in for Kevin Sinarle

Carissa Cardenas (Counseling, Year 2)

Jesenia Diaz (Counseling) - Chair/Expert Sunny Martin (Counseling) - perm* Michael Vargas (Counseling) - 2 yr* *replacing Alex Guiriba (not faculty) & Jennifer De La Cruz (on leave)

<u>Alexandra Urbina (Counseling, Year 1)</u>

Michael Vargas (Counseling) - Chair/Expert Mary Valenti (Counseling) - perm Jesenia Diaz (Counseling) - 2 yr

Sharon Quach (Counseling, Year 1)

Leonardo Cruz (Counseling) - Chair/Expert Arielle Smith (Counseling) - perm Patrice Reed-Fort (Counseling) - 2 yr

MATH/SCIENCE

Krista Bailey (Biology, Year 1)

Christopher Smith (Biology) - Chair/Expert Kathy Diamond (Biology) - perm Jose Gutierrez (Engineering) - 2 yr

Katryn Wiese (Geology, Year 2)

John Dao (Chemisty) - Chair/Expert* Joshua Rhodes (Math) - perm Shawn Westmoreland (Math) - 2 yr *no GEOL expert available in district, CHEM is related field

Mark Hollandsworth (Nursing, Year 2)

Melinda Nguyen (Nursing) - Chair/Expert* Natalie Waechtler (Nursing) - perm Kazumi Tsuchiyose (Math) - 2 yr **replacing Janis Wisherop (retired)*

Jessie Tohmc (Nursing, Year 4)

Melinda Nguyen (Nursing) - Chair/Expert Beth LaRochelle (Dental Assisting) - perm Natalie Waechtler (Nursing) - 2 yr* *replacing Janis Wisherop (retired)

Shannon Spring (Nursing, Year 4)

Melinda Nguyen (Nursing) - Chair/Expert Beth LaRochelle (Dental Assisting) - perm Natalie Waechtler (Nursing) - 2 yr* *replacing Janis Wisherop (retired)

Javier Silva (Biology, Year 4)

Huy Tran (Biology) - Chair/Expert Beth LaRochelle (Dental Assisting) - perm Paul Hankamp (Biology) - 2 yr

Kevin Sibucao (Chemistry, Year 3)

Jeff Flowers (Chemistry) - Chair/Expert Catherine Ciesla (Chemistry) - perm Harry Nishanian (Math) - 2 yr* **rotating in for Lena Feinman*

ASLT

Lia Thomas (Library, Year 3)

Matt Montgomery (Library) - Chair/Expert Valeria Estrada (Library) - perm Michelle Mullane (Psychology) - 2 yr.* *not rotating off after 2 years?

Julieth Diaz Benitez (Instructional Designer, Year 4)

Teresa Morris (Library) - Chair Bianca Rowden-Quince (Instructional Designer) - Expert/perm* Matt Montgomery (Library) - 2 yr *previously approved by Skyline to serve

CASS

Edgar Mojica Villegas (Ethnic Studies, Year 3)

Frederick Gaines (Ethnic Studies) - Chair Malathi Iyengar (Ethnic Students) - Expert/perm Steven Lehigh (Economics) - 2 yr* **rotating in for Michelle Mullane*

Erica Yoon (Psychology, Year 3)

James Clifford (Psychology) - Chair Michelle Mullane (Psychology) - Expert/perm Malathi Iyengar (Ethnic Studies) - 2 yr* *rotating in for Judith Hunt

Bismillah Iqbal (2D Art, Year 1)

Jeremy Ball (Philosophy) - Chair Vera Fainshtein (Digital Media/Graphic Design) - expert/perm* Adria Otte (Music) - 2 yr* *Vera has a strong background in 2D art, is a practicing artist, and the only tenured faculty in CASS with the relevant discipline expertise; the other faculty bring strong pedagogical skills

Cheyanne Cortez (Art History, Year 3)

Vera Fainshtein (Digital Media/Art) - Chair/Expert Judith Hunt (History) - perm Minu Mathur (Sociology) - 2 yr* *temporary change approved last year

Language Arts

Anothony Scoggins (English, Year 1)

Daniel Keller (English) - Chair/Expert Rene Anderson (English) - perm Evan Kaiser (ESL) - 2 yr

Hector Sanchez (English, FT Temp)

Teeka James (English) - Chair Robbie Baden (English) - 1 yr Briana Avila (Communications) - 1 yr

STEM @ Skyline

Kolo Wamba (Physics/Astronomy @ Skyline, Year 5) Elisha Polomski (Astronomy @ CSM) - Expert

Other proposed faculty on the committee: Kenyatta Weathersby (SKY) Tenured Math Faculty Michael Hoffman (CAN) Tenured Math Faculty

From Jessica Hurless, STEM Dean @ Skyline: I am requesting CSM Academic Senate's approval for Astronomy/Physics faculty member Elisha Polomski to serve as the Discipline Expert for Kolo Wamba's tenure-track faculty evaluation committee. Skyline College only has one full-time, tenured, Physics faculty member that is unable to serve and the AFT contract requires a discipline expert to serve on the committee. Thus, we would like Elisha to participate.

We have not selected a Chair of the committee, which is why that is not denoted. After we have the first meeting, we will elect a Chair. Additionally, I have reached out to Cañada and Skyline's Academic Senate for approval of Kenyatta & Michael, so we are requesting approval for Elisha Polomski.

Hiring Committees

<u>College Business Officer</u>

Beth LaRochelle (Dental Assisting) Philip Tran (Business) Sujata Verma (Business)

Notes/Context:

• Gerardo Ramirez, Vice President of Administrative Services, reached out to deans to identify faculty; Gerardo sent e-mails to 8 faculty, received affirmative response from three faculty above

Tenure-Track Personal Counselor

Gil Perez (Personal Counseling) Arielle Smith (Counseling) Kevin Sinarle (Counseling/DRC)

Notes/Context:

- Additional committee members:
 - Emily Barrick (Hiring Manager)
 - Nicole Salviejo (Classified Staff)
- Failed search in Spring 2024
- Previous committee faculty on the committee:
 - Gil Perez (Personal Counselor)
 - Makiko Ueda (Personal Counselor)
 - Patrice Reed-Fort (EOPS)

Assistive Technology Specialist

Julieth Diaz Benitez (Instructional Designer) Jon Kitamura (English) Kevin Sinarle (Counseling, Chair)

Notes/Context:

- Additional committee members:
 - Carol Newkirk-Sakaguchi (Director, Disability Resource Center)
 - Hirania Gonzalez (Program Services Coordinator)
- This same committee was formed and completed a successful search in Spring 2024, but unfortunately, the Assistive Technology Specialist they hired recently resigned

Other Participatory Governance Committees

Academic Senate Program Review Committee

Makiko Ueda (Personal Counseling) Beth LaRochelle (Dental Assisting) Hellen Pacheco (CIS)

State-level Service

CSM's OER Liasion (appointment for one year)

Jennifer Howze-Owens (Instructional Designer)

Notes/Context:

• The OERI supports OERLs so that they may serve as advocates by taking an active role in increasing local OER awareness, adoption, and support. Each college's OERL will be eligible for a yearly stipend of \$1,000. OERLs who complete the specified activities for a given term (fall or spring) will receive \$500 after the term's end upon verification of their eligibility. Colleges may appoint more than one OERL, with the duties and stipend divided in a manner deemed appropriate by the local senate. All appointments and exceptions must be verified by the local senate president. Your local senate president should direct any OERL updates to the OERI's general email (oeri@asccc.org).