Diversity in Action Work Group Meeting Notes February 27, 2018 10-390

Present: Sylvia Aguirre-Alberto, chair; Patrice Reed-Fort, Makiko Ueda, Arnett Caviel, Gwen Kenny, Kate Motoyama, Roxana Rugliancich

Requests and Budget Update

• <u>Approved</u>: Project Change Learning Community film screening and student panel: \$750

• <u>Approved</u>: Mana Preview Day (also supported by Student Services): \$385 requested/\$750 funded

• <u>Remaining</u>: \$6558.98 remains to be expended for AY 2017-18; request for proposals to be resent by Community Relations and Marketing (Rich Rojo)

Discussion of Committee Format/Mission

I. Name

History of Committee:

• Initially known as DIAG, which granted programming funds for college-wide events that supported diversity and inclusiveness

• Divided into DIAG Planning Committee, granted programming funds, and the DIAG Institutional Committee, equity policy matters and recommendations, part of IPC [The Academic Senate opted to shelve its Student Success Committee, with oversight on "policies regarding student success."]

• Served as Diversity Planning Committee (DPC), which granted programming funds, reporting to the Educational Equity Committee (EEC)

• Currently: **Diversity in Action Work Group**, grants programming funds (\$10,000/year allocated from Fund One, President's Office)

II. Object

Purpose:

DIA Work Group grants programming funds for college-wide events that support the college commitment to diversity and inclusiveness. Fund I monies (\$10,000/annually) are allocated to the work group by the college president. Availability of funds is advertised by sending all-campus email with Request for Funding proposals. Request forms for Spring 2018 were sent out in the fall and will be sent out again. At the end of the academic year, a report of DIA-sponsored events is sent to the president and had been, in the past, sent to EEC.

III. Members

Membership:

Open to Student Services and Instructional faculty, staff, administrators, and students. Current membership; although not everyone attends meetings, we have no provisions for active member status.

Student Services: Sylvia Aguirre-Alberto (MCC/EOPS); Arianna Avendano (EOPS); Arnett Caviel (Counseling); Tabitha Conaway (Learning Center); Krystal Duncan (Dean, Counseling and Matriculation); Gwen Kenny (EOPS); Claudia Menjivar (Financial Aid); Patrice Reed-Fort (EOPS); Roxana Rugliancich (EOPS); Jackie Santizo (MCC/DC); Fi Tovo (Mana Learning Community); Makiko Ueda (Counseling)

Instruction: Lisa Melnick (PE/ESL); Kate Motoyama (Language Arts); Rudy Ramirez (Social Science); also (already mentioned in Student Services): Tabitha Conaway (History); Fi Tovo (Counseling)

There has been a student representative. ASCSM had been asked to appoint a student representative for spring semester 2018. Also invited to join: a Personal Counseling Peer Educator and an EOPS Club Board Member

IV. Officers

Leadership:

The DIA work group selects co-chairs from its membership. There is no nomination process for the co-chair position; members volunteer to serve as co-chair. When the senior co-chair steps down, the junior co-chair succeeds him or her. The work group has no term limits.

V. Meetings

Two meetings each semester are scheduled make decisions on allocation of programming funds.

VI. Executive Board

N/A

VII. Committees

N/A

VIII. Parliamentary Authority

The work group has no parliamentary authority nor any special rules of order. We make decisions by consensus. As a work group, we do not remove members who have missed meetings in order to achieve quorum; they are allies and supporters. When we vote on funding proposals, there is a sufficient number of members.

Agendas and meeting notes are sent to work group members. As a group that allocates taxpayer dollars, we observe 72-hour notice and distribute agendas and meeting notes to members and members of the college who may request them.

IX. Amendment by Bylaws

N/A

•

Kate Motoyama, Notetaker