NOTE: Fees are due and payable at the time of registration. Students will not be able to register for classes if they have any outstanding balance.
- On Wednesday, July 31, 2013 at midnight students who have any outstanding fee balances will be dropped from all fall classes for non-payment of fees.
- Beginning Thursday, August 1 (two weeks prior to the start of the fall semester) students will be dropped at midnight the day following their registration for non-payment of fees.
Students who are classified as California residents as defined in the California Education Code will be charged an enrollment fee, a health services fee and a student representation fee. An optional student body fee also will be assessed. In accordance with California law, enrollment fees may be waived for California residents who demonstrate financial need and qualify for a Board of Governors Fee Waiver (BOGFW). For additional information contact the College's Financial Aid Office.
Students who are classified as non-residents will be charged a tuition fee in addition to the enrollment fee, health services fee and student representation fee. International Students (F-1 Visa) are subject to a health insurance requirement and are charged tuition and capital outlay fees. For details contact the College's International Student Center.
The student representation fee was established by student election to support student advocacy before local, state and federal offices and agencies.
In addition, students will be required to purchase textbooks and miscellaneous supplies, as well as tools and technical supplies for certain programs. In some courses students will also be required to pay a non-refundable instructional materials charge. Students enrolled in clinical classes in health-related programs are subject to a malpractice insurance premium.
Fees are subject to change at any time by action of the State Legislature, Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges, or the District Board of Trustees.
If you need assistance in paying your fees, you are encouraged to:
- Enroll in an inexpensive payment plan via WebSMART
- Apply for financial aid (www.fafsa.gov) at least five business days prior to registering for your classes
- Complete the Board of Governors Fee Waiver via WebSMART
If you decide not to attend classes, whether or not your fees have been paid, it is your responsibility to withdraw officially within published deadlines to avoid penalty grades and fee obligations.
All student records are automatically held until all outstanding debts to the District colleges have been cleared.
AB 540 Students
Under Assembly Bill 540 (AB540), you may be exempt from paying nonresident tuition. Students who have attended a California high school for three years AND received a California high school diploma or its equivalent, such as a GED or passed the high school proficiency exam, are exempt from paying non-resident tuition. See page 4 for more information.
|Fee Type||Amount||Required of
|Enrollment Fee||$46 per unit||All students except High School students enrolling for less than 11.5 units through the Concurrent Enrollment Program or Middle College High School Program|
|Health Services Fee*||$16 Summer
|All student except those enrolled ONLY in off-campus classes, Saturday classes, distance learning courses, or the Concurrent Enrollment Program|
|Student Representation Fee**||$1||All students except High School students enrolled in the Concurrent Enrollment Program or Middle College High School Program|
|Nonresident Tuition Fee
Nonresident Capital Outlay Fee
|$208 per unit
(plus $46 per unit Enrollment Fee)
$9 per unit
|This fee applies to nonresidents of California who are residents of other states.|
|International Student Application Fee||$50||For Fall and Spring semesters only.|
|International Student Tuition Fee
International Student Capital Outlay Fee
|$208 per unit
(plus $46 per unit Enrollment Fee)
$9 per unit
|International Student (F-1 Visa)
$397.50 Fall or Spring
$953 Full Year
|All F-1 Visa International students who do not present proof that they have the required level of private health insurance.|
|Student Body Fee***||$8 Fall
|Students who purchase a photo ID student body card receive discounts throughout the year and also support many student-sponsored activities and programs (the student body fee is automatically assessed as part of your total fees; if you choose not to pay this fee, contact the Student Activities Office for reimbursement. See Credit & Refund Policy).|
|Parking Fee***||Student Parking Permit
$2 per day
$90 Two-Term (Fall/Spring)
BOGG Parking Permit
$2 per day
$60 Two-Term (Fall/Spring)
|The parking fee is optional and not transferable to other students; disabled parking permits are issued only by the Disabilities Resource Center. See Parking & Traffic Regulations for more information.
Persons who park motor vehicles on campus (daily permits may be purchased
for $2 from ticket dispensers in designated areas).
|Audit Fee||$15 per unit
(students enrolling in a variable unit course must pay for maximum units)
|Students enrolled in 10 or more units for credit can audit up to three additional units free of charge. See Audit Policy.|
|Instructional Materials Fee||Varies by course||Students enrolled in courses for which instructional materials are needed. Check course information in class listings or WebSCHEDULE. Non-refundable.|
|Duplicate Diploma Fee||$20|
|Returned Check Fee||$20||Students whose personal checks are returned by the bank (only cash, credit card or cashier's check will be honored to clear a returned check - bookstore fee may differ).|
|Transcript Fee||$5 official
$10 additional for rush service
|Students requesting a transcript of their academic record at College of San Mateo, Cañada College and/or Skyline College (the first two transcripts ever requested are free).|
* Students who depend exclusively upon prayer for healing in accordance with the teachings of a bona fide religious sect, denomination, or organization may be exempted from paying the health services fee. For details, contact the Health Center in Building 1, Room 147, (650) 574-6396.
** A student has the right to refuse to pay the $1 student representation fee for religious, political, moral or financial reasons. This refusal must be submitted in writing to the Student Life and Leadership Development Office, Building 17, Room 112, before the last day to drop for credit and refund deadline. See Important Dates.
*** This fee is optional. Please refer to "Required Of" column for further information. A two-term parking permit is available for $90. Parking permits for low income students are $25-30 per semester/session; low income students are those who demonstrate financial need under federal or state standards. For lost and stolen permits, please see Parking Regulations.
NOTE: Student enrollment fees are set by California legislature and governor. It is possible that your fees may be adjusted at a future date. All Student records are automatically held until all outstanding debts to the District colleges have been cleared. Unpaid bills may be sent to collections.
Accepted forms of payment are cash, checks, credit cards and debit cards. Cash is accepted in-person only.
Please make checks payable to College of San Mateo.