Student Clubs & Organizations at College of San Mateo - Ethnic/Cultural Clubs
skip directly to Main Content Navigation Search A-Z Index Find People Top Story Breadcrumbs Footer
Student Clubs & Organizations
Ethnic/Cultural Clubs

French Club
Encourages social, cultural, and educational experiences on campus and in the community
Advisor
Susan Petit
(650) 574-6357
petit@smccd.edu
Gay-Straight Alliance (GSA)
Promotes unity and acceptance among individuals of all sexual orientations, and strives to maintain a positive environment and nurturing atmosphere for those exploring their sexual identity

Advisors
Henry Villareal
(650) 574-6590
villarealh@smccd.edu

Martin Bednarek
(650) 574-6349
bednarekm@smccd.edu

German Club
Provides support for students wanting to learn more about German language and culture

Advisors
Roslyn Raney
(650) 378-7301 x19361
raney@smccd.edu

Diane Musgrave
(650) 574-6351
musgraved@smccd.edu

Hip Hop Club
Promotes interest and understanding of hip hop music as a culture
Advisor
Khalid White
(650) 378-7301 x19046
whitek@smccd.edu
Italian Club
Promotes interest in the study of the Italian language and culture
Advisor
Guy Marra
(650) 378-7301 x1909
marrag@smccd.edu
Latinos Unidos (formerly La Raza)
Latinos Unidos Club promotes the richness and diversity within the Latino culture. LUC members build community amongst each other through the various cultural, political, educational and social events organized. Elevating Latino/a student success through academic excellence is at the heart of LUC.

Advisors
Rudy Ramirez
(650) 574-6496
ramirezr@smccd.edu

Lorena del Mundo
(650) 574-6154
delmundo@smccd.edu

Persian Club
Celebrates Persian culture through special programs and events
Advisor
Mohsen Janatpour
(650) 574-6272
janatpour@smccd.edu
Polynesian Club
Encourages and appreciation for Polynesian culture and provides support for Polynesian students
Advisor
Deborah Laulusa
(650) 574-6461
laulusa@smccd.edu
Spanish Club
For those who want to speak and read Spanish
Advisor
Richard Castillo
(650) 574-6316
castillo@smccd.edu
Unity Among Brothers (UAB)
Provides ways for African-American males to support each other both socially and educationally, and hosts the annual UAB basketball tournament
Advisor
Zelte Crawford
(650) 574-6145
crawfordz@smccd.edu