Center for Academic Excellence (CAE) at College of San Mateo - Habits of Mind
skip directly to Main Content Navigation Search A-Z Index Find People Top Story Breadcrumbs Footer
Center for Academic Excellence (CAE)
Habits of Mind
Contact Us

Theresa Martin
Professional Development Coordinator
martin@smccd.edu
(650) 574-6252

David Laderman
Academic Senate President
laderman@smccd.edu
(650) 574-6302
Habits of Mind

Faculty and staff at CSM are planning to implement the Habits of Mind skills and practices that help ensure student success. Since spring 14, the Leading from the Middle (LFM) team has vetted the Habits in several settings with members of the campus community.

Focusing on several key Habits that seemed most important to CSM, the team developed, with crucial input from faculty and staff, our own identity and brand: MINDSET 4.0. The team is presently planning activities to help integrate MINDSET 4.0 into classrooms, student services, and the campus culture at large.

M Mindful learning: be aware of your thinking process
I Interdependent thinking: make creative connections
N No giving up: persist in completing and succeeding
D Dream: take risks and keep your wonder
S Say what you mean: communicate clearly and precisely
E Empathize: listen openly to others and their views
T Trust your experience: use past knowledge to move forward
4.0 Aim for the A!   
LFM Team Members 
Jesenia Diaz diazo@smccd.edu
Steven Gonzalez gonzaless@smccd.edu
David Laderman laderman@smccd.edu
Teresa Morris morrist@smccd.edu
Theresa Martin martin@smccd.edu
Monique Nakagawa nakagawam@smccd.edu
Krystal Romero romerok@smccd.edu
Jeramy Wallace wallacej@smccd.edu