Center for Academic Excellence (CAE) at College of San Mateo - Center for Academic Excellence Committee
Center for Academic Excellence (CAE)
Center for Academic Excellence Committee

The Center for Academic Excellence Committee (CAEC) is an independent subcommittee of the College of San Mateo Academic Senate.

Mission
The Center for Academic Excellence Committee shall report and recommend to Council and advise the Dean of Academic Support and Learning Technologies regarding professional development activities. The primary focus and purview of the committee shall be faculty professional development and pedagogy, but the committee shall also oversee and facilitate professional development for staff, and other college employees. The CAEC may establish committees as needed on other professional development matters, as it deems necessary. All responsibilities of the CAEC shall be carried out in accordance with applicable State laws.

Duties and Responsibilities
  • Oversee, develop and facilitate professional development activities for faculty and staff.
  • Inform faculty of pertinent local and statewide opportunities for professional growth.
  • Collaborate with college administration and staff to insure support and innovation regarding professional development.
  • Collaborate with the Committee on Instruction, the College Assessment Committee, the division of Academic Support and Learning Technologies, and other relevant college programs and services to achieve high-quality instruction and student success.

Three Year Plan
The 2016-2019 Professional Development Plan was developed by CAEC, and approved by Academic Senate Governing Council on March 22, 2016. The plan was presented to Institutional Planning Committee on April 22, 2016.

Committee Structure
Center for Academic Excellence Committee shall consist of representatives from the faculty, as well as representatives from staff and administration. The faculty member serving as Professional Development Coordinator shall chair the committee. Each instructional division, including counseling, shall elect one representative to the committee; other committee members will include a library faculty representative, a staff representative, the Dean of Academic Support and Learning Technologies, and two student representatives. The chair will report at least monthly to Governing Council.
Name Representation  Email AddressPhone 
Jennifer Taylor-Mendoza, Dean of ASLT Administration mendozaj@smccd.edu (650) 574-6572 
Henry Villareal, Dean of Enrollment Services Administration villarealh@smccd.edu (650) 574-6590
Lilya Vorobey, Drafting Technology Business/Technology vorobey@smccd.edu (650) 358-6758
Lindsey Bynum, Counseling Classified Staff bynuml@smccd.edu (650) 574-6189
Fauzi Hamadeh, Center for Student Life Classified Staff hamadehf@smccd.edu (650) 574-6349
Michael Vargas, Counseling Student Services Instruction vargas@smccd.edu (650 ) 574-6251
vacant Creative Arts/Social Science    
Katie Goldhahn, PE/Athletics Kinesiology, Athletics and Dance goldhahnk@smccd.edu (650) 574-6423
Kristi Ridgway, English Language Arts ridgwayk@smccd.edu (650) 574-6686
vacant Library    
Lin Bowie, Biology Math/Science bowiel@smccd.edu (650) 574-6170
Bella Hamzah Student Representative    
Colby Riley, Student Student Representative    
Theresa Martin, Biology Chair martin@smccd.edu (650) 574-6252

Agendas & Meeting Summaries

2016-2017
Agendas Meeting Summaries

2015-2016
Agendas Meeting Summaries

2014-2015
Agendas Meeting Summaries